Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Defense Rifle

(Bucks County)

Default Defense Rifle

Hey guys, was just seeing what is a good semi-auto rifle to get. I posted in a previous thread but i think i was misunderstood. So what type of rifle should I get for home/national defense. People were saying Rugers, but they seem like they have small calibers. I was thinking an AK, M4, or AR but they just seem to be the popular ones. By the way, I'm really new to guns, especially rifles. Any suggestions?

-Bill

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Defense Rifle

my home defense gun is a bushmaster m4 and a twelve gauge mossberg shotgun

(York County)

My suggestion is an AR-15.
    In a worst case scenario, you'll be able to get ammo for it. Make ure the rifle (if an AR-15) has a NATO chamber so it'll run .223 as well as 5.56 ammo.
    Mine is a Rock River carbine, but there are many quality AR brands to chose from.
    AK's are great rifles, but ammo availability may be an issue in a real SHTF situation.

Rugers are available in many many calibres, including .223 (Ranch rifle). I've read mag capacity can be an issue though.
    Last edited by RoyJackson; February 2nd, 2009 at 10:08 PM.

(Allegheny County)

a bunch of AR50's in the walls pointed at each door hooked up to trip wires...

NOOO, JUST MESSING WITH YOU MAN!

I have a mossberg 500 for the home defense here. dont want to risk a rifle because there is this really cute girl that lives across the hall and dont want any "oops"s.

however, if the red army attacks in the morning, she is on her own and im hanging out with my "CrazyWhiteGuy" anvil arms lower with del-ton upper.

(Allegheny County)

Cool Re: Defense Rifle

maybe one of these will do!

(York County)