Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Westmoreland County)

Default How to get started in collecting

Hey im dave and im from Pittsburgh. Im new to the whole firearm scene. For about a year now ( ever since i turned 18 ) I've been interested in collecting old military firearms like M1s and civil war weapons..Anyways my question is How would I go about to do this? Would I need anything like a permit or even if, is the minimal age to own firearms 18??? I'm not looking for hunting firearms or target shooting just collecting real working firearms.

I know this is probably a stupid question but just looking for some advise and suggestions maybe even a good shop around the Pittsburgh area that could help me out and get started
    Thanks, Dave

(Monroe County)

Default Re: How to get started in collecting

The 2 biggest things you need to collect the firearms you name is an 03 C&R (to cut down paperwork) and a BIG FAT wallet (self explanatory).

If you are only looking for long guns then 18 would be the age you can start. I'm not sure if you can get the C&R at 18 because there are C&R handguns.

Hope that helps.

Rich W.

(Tioga County)

Your not going to like my answer.

Here it is anyway.