Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default Interested in a 1911 and few questions.

I am new to 1911's and am interested in getting a 10mm 1911. SO I was at the gun shop yesterday and was looking at some kimbers and others. I had noticed that the damn slid release was hard as hell to work with one thumb and had to use my other to drop the slide. Are all 1911's like this? Also another thing you cant drop the hammer with your thumb and still manage to keep your palm on the grip safety so again I had to use my other hand to drop the thing. Just looking at someone to chime in with some 1911 experience and give a few pointers.. Thanks

Default Re: Interested in a 1911 and few questions.

Quote Originally Posted by mpett1 View Post
    I am new to 1911's and am interested in getting a 10mm 1911. SO I was at the gun shop yesterday and was looking at some kimbers and others. I had noticed that the damn slid release was hard as hell to work with one thumb and had to use my other to drop the slide. Are all 1911's like this? Also another thing you cant drop the hammer with your thumb and still manage to keep your palm on the grip safety so again I had to use my other hand to drop the thing. Just looking at someone to chime in with some 1911 experience and give a few pointers.. Thanks
    The reason the slide stop was hard was that the mag was in putting upward pressure on the mag release, you're fighting that spring tension, drop the mag, then use the slide release.

When reloading it's not that difficult to use the release if you use that method.

Regarding the lowering of the hammer, pending on what type of grip safety there are ways to do it one handed, the hammer should be able to be moved past the full cock position and that will press in the grip safety allowing the trigger to be pulled to decock the pistol, you should not lower the hammer on a live round.

If you're looking at 10mm 1911s, I would greatly recommend a Dan Wesson.