Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default Buying My First Rifle

I'm looking to by my first rifle (actually, first gun) and I'm sort of confused about the laws and the like.

First things first: I'm a resident of NY - I go to school in PA, and want to become a resident here because I believe NY to be a tyrannical state. But, anyways, for now, I'm a resident of NY, and I'm wondering about being able to bring my rifle back and forth.

I'm leaning heavily towards the Ruger mini 14, due to not being able to afford the AR-15, and also questions of reliability. I've done a lot of research, but I still know relatively nothing :P

Anyways, so I'm wondering a few things:

1) Do I need any sort of ID to buy a mini 14 in PA?
    b) Do I need to be a resident of PA to buy a rifle here?

2) If I do buy a rifle here, the mini 14 specifically, can I bring that back to NY with me, or is it considered an assault weapon (ie, I'm 99% I wouldn't be allowed to bring the AR-15 back with me - Here's the NRA info on NY

I had more questions but I can't remember them now, will post again later in the thread though

Thanks
    (I guess these questions are probably asked frequently here, so I hope this isn't too redundant for you all - I expect this thread will turn into me asking a lot more pretty basic questions about ammo, safety, and other things, once we get these basic legality questions sorted out)
    Last edited by JohnDaniels2006; January 8th, 2009 at 06:14 PM.

(Northampton County)

Default Re: Buying My First Rifle

As for #1:

Unless the rifle has a short enough barrel to classify it as a "firearm" (UFA-speak for "handgun"), then you can purchase a rifle from any FFL in Pennsylvania with your NY ID.

You cannot, however, purchase a rifle in a face-to-face private transfer.

Now, many FFLs will not sell you a rifle if it is not legal in your home state. So that defers to your question #2, for which I do not have an answer.