Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Finding/Buying M1 Carbine for WWII Reenacting

I've been doing WWII re-enacting for several years now (on the German side), but am now looking to broaden my hobby by including a GI impression. I'm looking to find a shooter/rack grade "beater" M1 Carbine that I can modify for blank adapting, and can't spend more than $500 (thanks recession!).

Can anyone out there suggest any gun dealers/shops in the southeast PA region where I may find a used carbine of this grade that will work for my impression??

I've been to a few area gun shows over the past few months, but the majority of Carbines I've seen have been more "collector" grade, with the cheapest being over $700. I'm not looking to collect, just to have fun.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: Finding/Buying M1 Carbine for WWII Reenacting

I know a guy who might have one in the 6-650 range, you would have to have it sent over to an ffl on your side though...which would add to the cost.

I think you may have missed the Boat on this one, CMP would've been your best bet, But they are Sold out.

If you have a C&R license, Century claims to be getting some in for sale, But still more than you want to spend.

Keep an Eye on CMP maybe they will get more in someday, meanwhile if you aren't eligible to order from them, I suggest you read up on what's required such as joining the NRA, The Garand Collectors' assn etc...

Good Luck

~TJB~
    Recoil Happens

(Lebanon County)

$500 carbines are a thing of teh past....like dinosaurs and carrier pigeons.
    expect to pay closer to $700.
    local shop has one.
    it's only metal, we can out think it....

(Pike County)