Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default Loading cast lead. What's different?

I've loaded thousands of jacketed, and a couple hundred plated bullets, but never cast lead.

I picked up some 200gr. SWC, .45 caliber, hard-cast bullets, mostly just to make some cheap ammo to break in a new 1911.

I'm pretty sure that I'm going to need to flare the cases a bit more, but what else will I need to do different? Anything else that I'll need to know?
    Removed NRA Life Member pic. LaPierre and Chris Cox are ruining NRA.

Default Re: Loading cast lead. What's different?

Nothing. Just keep them under 1000FPS to keep from leading the barrel. I've been casting and loading for almost 30 years with out any trouble. The hard cast are much better than the soft lead that you get some places. You don't need to flare the case more. Enjoy.

(Jefferson County)

As said above..

If you happen to get some .452" 45ACP lead bullets you might need to flare/bell it a tad more than usual. Usually .452" is for 45LC, but the all lead 45 ACP pills come a tad oversized, especially the softer alloy bullets. The hard cast are a hit/miss on .451" and .452".
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Schuylkill County)

As stated flare the case. You can go over 1000fps but that generally means a gas check.

As for leading, most commercial cast bullets have grease rings that are just short of useless. I cast .357 and .45ACP and coat the entire bullet in Lee ALOX. The bullets are made a bit different (more, smaller groves at the base rather than one or two) but smoke a lot less and have yet to put any lead in the barrel (because the lube is where it is supposed to be.. on the bullet and not in some groove waiting to melt.