Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Machinist?

Default Machinist?

Anyone here a machinist? I had heard of places that need them so bad they're putting folks through classes as long as they go to work for them.

If you are..do you like the job? Is it monotonous? Is the pay good?

Just something I've been tossing around in my mind for some time now.

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: Machinist?

Quote Originally Posted by Kaos View Post
    Anyone here a machinist? I had heard of places that need them so bad they're putting folks through classes as long as they go to work for them.

If you are..do you like the job? Is it monotonous? Is the pay good?

Just something I've been tossing around in my mind for some time now.
    Back in the late seventies and early eighties I worked as a machinist... for the time, the pay was good, but only because you pretty much were guaranteed 50 to 55 hrs per week, with time-and-a-half over 40... not to mention 2nd shift differential, if you're willing to work 4:00pm to 12:00am (or 2:00am on the overtime).

But I took an initial pay cut in the mid-eighties in order to get into software engineering, and never looked back.

I occasionally look in the papers at the trades section, just out of curiosity, and the pay rates don't seem to be all that much higher than when I was a machinist nearly 30 years ago. But it's an honorable trade, just not one you'll ever get rich at. And yes, it can get monotonous at times.

If you're really interested in the trades, I'd go for HVAC, Electrician, or Plumber... especially since you can eventually go out on your own.
    Last edited by Robert Kayland; December 9th, 2008 at 09:43 PM.

If you get anyone interested, I ran CNC for awile.
    Better than wrenching!!!!!!!!!!

(Montgomery County)