Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Wayne County)

Default PA resident transfering long gun to NY resident

I'm planning to sell a NY legal Mossberg 500 pump shotgun to a buddy from Long Island NY(not NYC) when he comes to visit.
    I'm a full time PA resident with PA ID, he has a NY state ID with a Long Island address on it.
    Can a FFL in PA transfer this to him after a NICS check?

How about a private long gun transfer where we do not go through an FFL?

(Cumberland County)

Default Re: PA resident transfering long gun to NY resident

��

(Lehigh County)

Quote Originally Posted by Will3212 View Post
    I'm planning to sell a NY legal Mossberg 500 pump shotgun to a buddy from Long Island NY(not NYC) when he comes to visit.
    I'm a full time PA resident with PA ID, he has a NY state ID with a Long Island address on it.
    Can a FFL in PA transfer this to him after a NICS check?

How about a private long gun transfer where we do not go through an FFL?
    FFL required for interstate transfers -- Federal law...
    Illegitimus non carborundum est

(Jefferson County)

As mentioned directly above, it must go through a FFL. With in being a long gun(assuming it isn't a pistol-grip only shotgun), it can go through a FFL in PA unless NY state requires the transfer to go through a FFL in that state.

If it is a pistol-grip only shotgun, it is considered a "firearm", which follows the same rules as handguns under federal law, requiring the transfer through a FFL in NY state.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Fayette County)

Could someone direct me to the actual statute or wording on this or tell me how best to find this?