Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Suppressor

(Cumberland County)

Default Suppressor

Dumb question time. I'm new to suppressors. Picked up my first one a few months back. After talking to shop and others I thought I had it figured out, but now the more I read I'm not sure.
    I was told using my suppressor with say my Beretta or Stribog I was good to go as is. But if I wanted to use it on a pistol with tilting barrel like my Glock, I needed to use a spacer.
    The more I read, it seems to be the opposite? Maybe I heard wrong originally. If I use suppressor on a fixed barrel like my Beretta or Stribog then replace spring with spacer and if I use it with tilt barrel like Glock, leave as is.
    Sorry again if dumb, just want to be sure
    "Tastefully Pimptastic"

(Lackawanna County)

Default Re: Suppressor

You don’t need a spacer for a Glock you need a booster. Most pistol cans come with one. If it’s a fixed barrel like a pcc you need a barrel spacer in the booster.
    What can did you buy?

(Berks County)

Yes, exactly as NathanB said. Technically it's called a Nielsen device. A piston booster.

Due to the weight of the suppressor, the action can't cycle (at least with any reliability) due to that extra weight. The spring loaded piston allows some of the gas to be held for a very brief interval and pushed back to create enough energy for cycling. I may not have explained that very well. Umm.. How about this link?

https://www.silencercentral.com/blog...ielsen-device/

I just attach my booster to my suppressor for pistols and swap to my 3 lug adapter for my rifles and PCC's, which of course then requires 3 lug barrels or adapters. There are some decent ones that are relatively inexpensive, like under $50 I believe.

(Cumberland County)