Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DCNR Authority

(Berks County)

Default DCNR Authority

I recently saw a sign at March Creek State park that said hunting was permitted in established seasons. But it also said only muzzle loader, archery, and shotgun are permitted. It specifically stated that rimfire rifles and handguns are not permitted. It lists title 17 11.215(2)(ii) on the sign. However, I don't see anything in there stating they have authority to set rules contradictory to the game commission.

I called the game commission to find out about this. They said DCNR has authority to make rules about "anything they want, like a private land owner".

This doesn't sound right to me. Where in the code/statute does DCNR get authority for setting additonal special restrictions?
    I am not a lawyer

(Berks County)

Default Re: DCNR Authority

Quote Originally Posted by giant_g2 View Post
    I recently saw a sign at March Creek State park that said hunting was permitted in established seasons. But it also said only muzzle loader, archery, and shotgun are permitted. It specifically stated that rimfire rifles and handguns are not permitted. It lists title 17 11.215(2)(ii) on the sign. However, I don't see anything in there stating they have authority to set rules contradictory to the game commission.

I called the game commission to find out about this. They said DCNR has authority to make rules about "anything they want, like a private land owner".

This doesn't sound right to me. Where in the code/statute does DCNR get authority for setting additonal special restrictions?
    I don't have your answer, but the text I bolded sounds like absolute BS. Maybe a land owner can do that with regard to setting guidelines for hunting if that's what you meant.

I thought 'special regulations' areas had to in the 'Digest,' not some randomly posted signage. There has to be a process for that.

Under Title 18. 7506