Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: WWII rifle help

(Delaware County)

Default WWII rifle help

My love of fine wood furnitured rifle coupled with a recent "Band of Brothers" marathon has me wanting to get into collecting WWII rifles, American and otherwise. Shooter Grade rifles are fine with me, I just want to try to own and restore pieces of history. Does anyone have any advice for me on where to start? Good first rifles, etc? Its a pretty broad question I know but I'm just getting started, so any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!
    "Things have taken a turn for the surreal." - Capt. John Miller

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: WWII rifle help

Garand
    M1 Carbine
    A3O3
    Lots of fun there and a great place to start,
    Be careful, It is addictive!
    ANd DONT look at WWl or WWll 1911s!
    Peter.

(Allegheny County)

You can't go wrong with a Russian Mosin Nagant. They are cheap, accurate, in good supply, and did I mention cheap. Dunhams has them on sale every few weeks for $79, and usually a good selection. Ammo is not as cheap as it was but there is MilSurp ammo all over the internet for a decent price.

Bolt Action Prices now are:

Soviet Mosin Nagant - $80
    Nazi Marked Mauser K98 - $220
    UK Lee Enfield - $300
    US Springfield 1903 - $600
    Japanese Arisaka - $250
    If vegetarians eat vegetables, what do humanitarians eat?

(Lebanon County)

Quote Originally Posted by SigMan1980 View Post
    My love of fine wood furnitured rifle coupled with a recent "Band of Brothers" marathon has me wanting to get into collecting WWII rifles, American and otherwise. Shooter Grade rifles are fine with me, I just want to try to own and restore pieces of history. Does anyone have any advice for me on where to start? Good first rifles, etc? Its a pretty broad question I know but I'm just getting started, so any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!
    good luck and get used to eating roman noodles....