Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Allegheny County)

Default Mauser feed issue

Hey all,

I just bought a CAI FN 98k mauser from Dunhams. <EDIT> I didn't mention, this is barreled for 7.62. I'm not sure of the history for this rifle yet, but I assume it was owned by Israel at some point. Whether it was rebarreled or made that way, I'm not sure. </EDIT> It shoots and groups good, but doesn't feed so well. I have no experience with these, and don't know anyone who does or any gunsmiths who work on them.

The case head doesn't slide up onto bolt face correctly. When the round pops out of the magazine, it doesn't seat on the bolt face, rather rides the bolt until the front of the round starts to enter the chamber and torques the rear of the round up, finally seating the round on the bolt face. This really does not make me comfortable because
    1) the torque can deform the cases
    2) the torque could cause bullet runout
    3) it requires a lot of forward force and speed on the bolt
    4) it's not reliable, I still had issues chambering dummy rounds where they popped in front of the extractor. #3 above could break the extractor when this happens

I disassembled the bolt to clean every bit of cosmoline out of it, and tried to dry fit a fired case. It seems to take a lot of pressure to slide the case head up onto the bolt face. Just to clarify, I am NOT trying to use it as a push feed, rather sliding the case head along the front of the bolt face and behind the extractor claw. The extractor itself seems to be the problem, but because I am unfamiliar with the mausers, I'm not sure if this is a normal operation.