Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Non resident… moving to PA

Hey all…
    I’m a resident of NJ ( yea, I know )
    I was issued my PA LTCF by Perry county. From what I understand, PA license doesn’t distinguish between resident and non resident.
    I’ll be moving to Pike county PA long before my current LTCF expires.
    Do I need to do a change of address with Pike county?

(Franklin County)

Default Re: Non resident… moving to PA

Changing your address is not a legal requirement. There are 2 reasons why some suggest voluntarily doing it:

1. So you receive proper notice if it would be revoked for some reason.
    2. So the Sheriff where you now reside knows where to send a renewal application at the end of your current license term.*

*Sending a renewal application is a legal requirement, but some sheriffs don't bother, and others may send a letter and not an actual application.
    Get your "Guns Save Lives" stickers today! PM for more info.

(Jefferson County)

What gnbrotz said above.

And, if you do decide to do an address change, you do it with the issuing sheriff, which is Perry County.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Franklin County)

Quote Originally Posted by knight0334 View Post
    What gnbrotz said above.

And, if you do decide to do an address change, you do it with the issuing sheriff, which is Perry County.
    Your clarification brings up an interesting conundrum. Statute says the power of revocation lies with the "issuing authority", which in this case, could hypothetically be from a different county than one's current county of residence.