Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (York County)

Default 12 guage 00 buck question

I am new to shotguns. Very amature trying to learn.

Today I patterned a Remington 870 12 gauge I have set up as a home defense gun with a shorter police barrel.

I used 3 loads to experiment with. All 00 Buck.

Hornaday Critical Defense and Federal (both with a flight control wad by different names) worked great for a home defense purpose with super tight 1.5" -2" groups at 7 yards and were dead on accurate for my point of aim. The Federals performed slightly better and are now my HD round of choice.

But Remington shells without a flight control wad were 9 inch groups (roughly) at that distance. That doesn't give me the warm and fuzzies for defensive rounds. Too much chance for a flyer to hit something I don't want hit.

Would those Remington shells perform better with a longer barrel? Like for hunting...not home defense. Or does my shotgun just hate the Remington rounds?

I have a longer barrel...I just didn't bring it with me to test it.

I have 95 of those Remington shells (A guy wanted to sell them cheap and I love a bargain). Now I am wondering if they have any value to me or if I should try to trade them for something else. I'm not a hunter.
    May the Schwartz Be With You

Default Re: 12 guage 00 buck question

Quote Originally Posted by Spaceballs View Post

Today I patterned a Remington 870 12 gauge I have set up as a home defense gun with a shorter police barrel.

Hornaday Critical Defense and Federal (both with a flight control wad by different names) worked great for a home defense purpose with super tight 1.5" -2" groups at 7 yards and were dead on accurate for my point of aim. The Federals performed slightly better and are now my HD round of choice.