Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Small pistol primers

Men, I've been using CCI primers for a couple of years now. Before the ammo crisis started I picked up a box of Winchester primers. My dealer said they were the most popular selling primers he had. I loaded some 38 S&W and went to the range today. It was terrible, when I dumped the cases a lot of them had unburnt powder in them, only a couple of the rounds sounded right, and the last one I shot is still sticking in the barrel. Has anybody else had unhappy experiences with Winchester primers, let me know. Joe

(Berks County)

Default Re: Small pistol primers

Quote Originally Posted by joeyj View Post
    Men, I've been using CCI primers for a couple of years now. Before the ammo crisis started I picked up a box of Winchester primers. My dealer said they were the most popular selling primers he had. I loaded some 38 S&W and went to the range today. It was terrible, when I dumped the cases a lot of them had unburnt powder in them, only a couple of the rounds sounded right, and the last one I shot is still sticking in the barrel. Has anybody else had unhappy experiences with Winchester primers, let me know. Joe
    I have some older ones that didn't look right after being shot. I loaded some more and will see what they do.
    Gender confusion is a mental illness

Quote Originally Posted by joeyj View Post
    Picture or description of the primers ?

What powder and load?

What bullet weight?
    SigGendered

(Bucks County)

Sounds like a problem with your powder or charge. Its not the primers. Did you load a 38 S&W before and was this a starting or max load? A 38 S&W is a very anemic round to start and the modern loading data is even milder and have the bullets barely leaving the barrel. That is why you have all of the unburn't powder.

Try a 158+ grain bullet and load closer to max if you have a quality pistol.

(Allegheny County)