Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Luzerne County)

Default Permitium Online LTCF Application & 6109 (g) Violations

Good evening free Pennsylvanians!

I'm a lifelong resident of Luzerne County PA, and an LTCF holder pretty consistently going on 20 years. I remember when you walked into the Sheriff's office, filled out the form, paid the fee, and walked out with a freshly laminated LTCF. Funny how the advent of online permit processing somehow makes that look just so incredibly efficient.

So, after a brief lapse, about 6 months or so beyond expiration, I decided to use the new online process "powered by Permitium" to submit a "new" application for LTCF. I submitted my application on 5/1, checked the status daily, then received notification via email today, 5/10, that "My Permit Has Been Issued", much to my confusion as it was nowhere to be seen :sarcasm:. At this point they ask that you use their online scheduling system to choose a date a time for your appointment to have your photo taken and retrieve your LTCF. Upon doing so, I discovered that low and behold the earliest available date was 6/29.

So what's wrong with this picture? Well, after careful review of my calendar, it appears that 6/29, is actually 60 days from the date that the Sheriff's office first received my application, 5/1. Based on my reading of the law, this is a clear violation of § 6109 paragraph (g), which states:

(g) Grant or denial of license.--Upon the receipt of an application for a license to carry a firearm, the sheriff shall, within 45 days, issue or refuse to issue a license on the basis of the investigation under subsection (d) and the accuracy of the information contained in the application. If the sheriff refuses to issue a license, the sheriff shall notify the applicant in writing of the refusal and the specific reasons. The notice shall be sent by certified mail to the applicant at the address set forth in the application.