Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Franklin County)

Default Transporting weapons

Hello all,

I recently moved to Pennsylvania from Overseas. My wife and i just left the military and are now enjoying life back here in the States. My Father passed away and left me his weapons. There are pistols and Rifles. The weapons are at my Aunts house in New Jersey. My question is what do i need to do to get them here to PA legally? Is there forms i need to fill out or licenses i need to get? I am new to this and want to make sure i do everything correctly and not get in trouble.

I want to take my son shooting like i did with my Dad. Any information you guys can provide would be great!!

Thanks,

Mike

(Franklin County)

Default Re: Transporting weapons

Have you obtained a Pa. License To Carry Firearms yet? If not, do you intend to?

Under Federal transport laws, you can go to NJ, load up all of the firearms (making sure they are unloaded) and proceed back to your home. Unless licensed, you may not legally make any stops in Pa. on the return trip (a Pa license means nothing in NJ anyway).

If there is an absolute necessity (such as fuel), be prompt, and be back on your way. Pa. laws provide for very limited exceptions to "carry in a vehicle" unless licensed, so don't be sight-seeing or running errands as part of the return trip.

Once the guns are at your home, you're done! There is no "registration" in Pa.

Welcome to Pa. and welcome to PAFOA!
    Get your "Guns Save Lives" stickers today! PM for more info.

(Franklin County)

Gnbrotz -
    Thanks for the information. I am going today to apply for the license. I want to make sure i am legit. I know the weapns are all broken down and there is no ammo. I want to get them here before January

So no registration for Pistols or Rifles?

Mike

(York County)

Good luck in NJ and welcome. And thank you for your service.
    RIP -The US constitution.

(Jefferson County)