Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (York County)

Default Are PSA AK's worth having?

Are AK-47's from PSA worth having?

I have always wanted one and PSA has affordable ones.

I am talking about a range rifle for fun. Not a competition rifle for precision at 700 yards or a battle rifle to fend off Commie/Zombie hordes while the rifle is filled with dirt and sand. Just as a plinker.

And is AK furniture as interchangable as AR furniture? All the PSA AK's have composite stocks. Could I easily swap that out with any wood in the future if I so desired?

I am not an AK expert at all.
    May the Schwartz Be With You

Default Re: Are PSA AK's worth having?

Short answer - Yes.

A buddy of mine really wanted an AK, so I pointed him to a PSA AK 103 earlier this year. I based my recommendation on Rob Ski from AKOU 4774's 5k round review. The guys puts AKs through their paces. My buddy misunderstood and bought a PSA AK47 GF3 and he couldn't be happier. He lucked into one for around $600, I think. High for an AK, but that's where prices are these days. So far it's been 100% reliable and decently accurate. He has no plans to change out the Zhukov furniture, but it should take any standard AK stock and forearm.

PSA actually has the AK-103 with laminate wood furniture on "sale" for $999 right now.

(York County)

Nice. Thank you for the field report!

PSA keeps sending me ads for AK's under $700. Of course that doesn't include shipping or local FFL transfer costs

(Elk County)

Note that AKs with stamped receivers require stocks that are different from those for machined / milled receivers. Stamped stocks have a "stepped" tongue and milled stocks have a short stub of a tongue. They are not interchangeable, so when looking for wood stocks keep that in mind.

Noah
    Wisdom and knowledge shall be the stability of thy times.

(Montgomery County)

All reports I've seen have been positive. Seems like the best AK option for the price range, easily.