Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Delaware County)

Question Lead bullets in titanium cylinders

I've heard that lead bullets, as opposed to jacketed or semi-jacketed, are not good with titanium cylinders. I'm not a metallurgist, nor do I have a degree in chemistry. Is there any particular reason why lead bullets should not be loaded for guns with titanium cylinders? I believe the S&W 340PD has a "jacketed only" warning on the barrel. I've also heard of minimum weight requirements so you don't erode the cylinder, making really cool sparks at the range.

Can anyone point me to any comprehensive information on this topic?

I'm hoping to pick up a S&W M&P340 which is a steel cylinder version of the 340PD, which I think is the lightest 357 Magnum J-Frame around. I'm looking to make low recoil ammunition using the 115gr Hunters Supply Cast Bullets ( https://www.midwayusa.com/product/2046156324?pid=577515 ). I would like to be able to share my end recipe if it is safe to use in Ti revolvers like the 342PD and 340PD. Those two revolvers are the only ones I know of off hand in the J-Frame size, but I wouldn't be surprised if Taurus and other companies had Ti cylinders to reduce weight. I am aware that S&W makes larger frame revolvers with Ti cylinders.

Thanks.

(Susquehanna County)

Default Re: Lead bullets in titanium cylinders

That is new to me! I have a S&W 986 Pro and I generally shoot coated or plated lead. Never heard of plain lead being a problem.

"Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities".

(Clarion County)

I shoot allot of lead and the op caught my attention.
    Went over to the S&W site and looked at their owners manual.
    They do have a warning on not using bullets lighter than 120 grs. in magnum loads, nothing specifically about cast.
    "Do not use Magnum loads with bullet weights of less than 120 grains - This will reduce the possibility of premature erosion in titanium alloy cylinders."