Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (York County)

Default Public range that isn't insanely expensive?

I am new to York County. I am looking for a public handgun/rifle range to dial in sights and such ideally in Southern York County. (I could even deal with York, Harrisburg, Gettysburg, Hanover, etc)

I have young kids so I just don't have to time to join a private club and make the costs worth my while. (At least not right now...a couple years down the road...different story. Or if there is a club that welcomes young shooters where I could teach my kids the club costs might make sense)

The public range in the area has membership fees (which seems to negate the 'public' part on top of range fees. It's just not economical for 2 trips a year

Thanks for any suggestions. Moving to a new area where you don't know where anything is can be an adventure!
    Last edited by Spaceballs; September 7th, 2021 at 03:32 PM.
    May the Schwartz Be With You

(York County)

Default Re: Public range that isn't insanely expensive?

Public ranges are going to be limited to a few indoor ranges and the SGL's around here. The SGL's might be a good choice since you can get a range pass or if you have a hunting license it is cheap.

Due to a general dysfunction of local ranges and their membership requirements, we joined York IWLA. It was mostly due to their juniors league and the family-oriented nature of the organization. Other ranges it was just too much trouble since I moved from the other side of the state I know few people here, and no one that shoots so sponsors was a problem. York IWLA worked with us and the family loves it there.

If you want to visit, let me know. Happy to chat.

(York County)

Quote Originally Posted by deltabravo View Post
    Public ranges are going to be limited to a few indoor ranges and the SGL's around here. The SGL's might be a good choice since you can get a range pass or if you have a hunting license it is cheap.