Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Berks County)

Default Thinking of .223

I will preface it with this, I am loading for an AR that I have. It might go in different ARs that I have but only ARs not bolt action. No, I am not starting this tomorrow as I am just learning how to load handgun however just making sure I have all the right tools in place. I am not a benchrest shooter so not really sure if I have to use a primer pocket uniformer and all of that kind of stuff?

Separate by headstamp. Separate by 223 and 556 (either way, load the same as far as charge? Can I mix cases of each or is that an issue?). I literally have a set of dies for 223 reloading but I’m assuming regardless of the case I use 223 or 556 I will load them the same with the same charge but I’m wondering if I mix 223 with 556 brass does that make a difference?

Deprime on universal die that I have for depriming. It’s a Lyman or Lee, I forget now.

Tumble 3 hours in walnut.

Lube (12:1, warm each bottle before mixing initially in warm water, shake before each use). Or what do you do to lube?

Put 50 cases in a plastic ziplock
    Try to stand them so lube gets inside cases
    Spray with lubricant
    Work all around
    Lay out on a paper towel to let it dry 15 minutes

Put on press and full length resize and deprime

Measure OAL

Trim, Chamfer, Debur. I have a manual one to do that however I believe there might be something you could put on the chalk of your drill for around $100 that will do all three actions at once? Is it worth the money is it better to get a case prep center what say you?

Measure OAL

Swage if needed (do this only on once fired military, corrrct? No need to keep redoing?

All of the above is done with the lube on correct?

Tumble 30 minutes in plain corncob to get lube off.

Prime in an empty position of turret with swaging die in it. Just what I plan to do.

Charge, seat and crimp. Check charge frequently

Measure Frequently