Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Delaware County)

Default Noob asking for current shotshell reloading information?

I am new to shotshell reloading. I have some recipes for AA HS hulls/clays powder/Win 209 primers/7 1/2 lead shot/WAA12 wads. I have a Lee Loader II that I'm setting up. I see that there is availability for Cheddite 209, Wolf 209, and CCI 209 primers. Can I substitute these other 209s if I'm not loading beyone 1200 fps? Am I better off decapping and repriming shells in bulk and then running through the powder/wad/shot/crimp cycle? Any and all tips gratefully accepted except for "throw away the Lee Loader and buy a MEC."
    Know your audience. Don't try to sell a Prius at a Monster Truck Rally.

(Beaver County)

Default Re: Noob asking for current shotshell reloading information?

Watch import primers. They can be larger in diameter than U.S. primers. Fiocchi are like that. Once you use them normal U.S. primers have a tendency to fall out.

And yes you can substitute primer brands. Of you use a magnum primer reduce powder charge by 1 grain.
    www.Steelvalleycasting.com is your new home for coated bullets and custom ammo.

(Northampton County)

Like Ducati says, watch for import primers. I have a bunch of RIO primers i bought a few years back, and they do exactly what he said in his reply.