Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default 50 BMG offerings and who owns them?

While my current crop of firearms has varied calipers, I am wondering about the 50 BMG and aside from about a million YouTube posters, How many "regular folks" have a 50 BMG, Noted that the cost of 100 rounds is $300 which is about the same as 100 rounds of 30-06, So at this manic time its rounds are not too costly,
    They seem like a fun rifle to own and I know I would get some enjoyment out of it, But where do I find a 1000 yard range in Phila or Pittsburgh?
    Single shot Serbu starts at $1100 and the Barrett offerings go to $13,000 and there are offerings throughout the price range,

(Lackawanna County)

Default Re: 50 BMG offerings and who owns them?

I have a bushmaster ba-50 which is the Cobb design. I paid 4200 or so for it. I didn’t want a single shot. I had heard issues with the Barretts and that really narrowed down the list quickly.
    This is a 10 round mag fed bolt gun. One of the draws to this was its supposed to be a moa accurate 50 where most run 2-3. It’s also or was in use with the coast guard.

My only knock on this is it has a very heavy trigger pull compared to most bolt guns.

(Lackawanna County)

I should add. I don’t shoot it much but it’s not a bad rifle to shoot. I feel it has less recoil than my 338 lapua to be honest. There are also a ton of api and what not out there for it.

(Mifflin County)

You need to become friends with a farmer to find a place to shoot them . Thats what the folks here do .

Haven't shot mine in years, nowhere to shoot it.

(Washington County)