Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default Newbie question on xd(m)

First of all I want to say hello to all. I have been reading on here, I really like
    this forum, good knowledge. Anyway I am a newbie to guns. I purchased my first pistol yeasterday, a Springfield Armory xd(m)
    I have been messing around with it today not loaded of course. I have noticed
    that one you cock the gun it seems like thats it. I dont know if I am missing something but on some guns there is a safety swith where you can uncock the gun without having to pull the trigger. I was wondering if somebody can give me some insight on this. I would like to be able to uncock it if i wanted to.
    thanks guys
    John

(Chester County)

Default Re: Newbie question on xd(m)

Quote Originally Posted by rottie98 View Post
    First of all I want to say hello to all. I have been reading on here, I really like
    this forum, good knowledge. Anyway I am a newbie to guns. I purchased my first pistol yeasterday, a Springfield Armory xd(m)
    I have been messing around with it today not loaded of course. I have noticed
    that one you cock the gun it seems like thats it. I dont know if I am missing something but on some guns there is a safety swith where you can uncock the gun without having to pull the trigger. I was wondering if somebody can give me some insight on this. I would like to be able to uncock it if i wanted to.
    thanks guys
    John
    That is not how the gun works. There is no way to de-cock the gun. It is a single action, with no exposed hammer.

It is perfectly safe, as is.

(Delaware County)

Quote Originally Posted by synergy View Post
    That is not how the gun works. There is no way to de-cock the gun. It is a single action, with no exposed hammer.

It is perfectly safe, as is.
    what he said...isn't it a striker fired pistol?

I know my xd, which is the model before the M, has a trigger and grip safety.