Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Brand New Open Carrier

As I've just written in my introductory post, while I have years of military service under my gunbelt, I'm new to bearing arms, both CC and OC, as a civilian. However, after obtaining my LTCF less than six weeks ago, CC came rather easily. After a couple of weeks, it was second nature.

Like many, I was reluctant to OC--we may list loss of tactical advantage and the drawing of unwanted attention as the two biggest factors. Yet, realizing certain conveniences in OC and embracing my 2nd Amendment rights as much as any other, I read extensively, making certain I understood Pennsylvania law on the topic, and devoted considerable thought before attempting it.

First, came the phone call to my local police department. During a brief, but informative, telephone conversation with a friendly and professional local officer who seemed happy to address any concerns I might have, he assured me that the choice of CC/OC was "up to me" and left it at that.

So assured, I strapped my GP100 to my belt and set out on my evening and early morning walks without incident. After several days, I had reason to stop in the local gun store and saw no reason to not OC (after all, it's a GUN STORE). Thirty or so minutes inside talking with one of the employees; not an eyebrow raised by anyone.

A day or two later, an early Saturday morning run to a small store at which I'm a regular. Upon entering, I found only one other customer inside, as I patiently waited for the nice, older lady who runs the place to finish waiting on him before turning her attention to me. As soon as she did, I noticed her eyes slightly widen as she focused on my trusty Ruger in it's holster--in plain view. Still, she was composed and asked how she could help me.