Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default Mounting a Scope on .338 WINMAG

I've got this Winchester Model 70 in .338 WINMAG and a scope for it. My knowledge of scope mounting is...well...other than picatinny rails I have no knowledge. The rifle currently has some sort of mounts on it and also has the iron sights on it. What should I expect to do to get this scope on it? Should I figure out what the existing mounts are and work with them? Can a picatinny rail be mounted on this rifle? If so, should I mount one? Any other things I should know or take into consideration? I don't see this as a do it myself project, probably have a smithy do it.
    Gender confusion is a mental illness

Default Re: Mounting a Scope on .338 WINMAG

First of all , exactly which Model 70 do you have? Pre-64 with big external Mauser style extractor? Post-64 with push-feed bolt? Later USRACo/FN rifle?

Would need to see which mounts are on it so you can get the correct rings.

I do believe EGW makes a 1pc Picatinny rail for all the above Mod.70 variations.
    I don't speak English , I talk American!

(Berks County)

Quote Originally Posted by abner13 View Post
    First of all , exactly which Model 70 do you have? Pre-64 with big external Mauser style extractor? Post-64 with push-feed bolt? Later USRACo/FN rifle?

Would need to see which mounts are on it so you can get the correct rings.

I do believe EGW makes a 1pc Picatinny rail for all the above Mod.70 variations.
    Post '64, my family doesn't have that kind of luck. Here's a shot of what's on there now, if it helps.

Attachment 136655

(Bucks County)

Those bases have no canal for the cross-screw of a scope mount intended for Picatinny or Weaver. I've never seen them before. They seem to have a shoulder that the ring can butt up against.