Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (York County)

Default School me on the 6.5 Grendel.

I'm new to this caliber as I'm considering getting an AR upper to expand my rifle's versatility, but then discovered a number of very nice bolt guns being made for it as well. So tell me more.

(Carbon County)

Default Re: School me on the 6.5 Grendel.

Maybe later, I almost have one together.

(Beaver County)

I built one in an AR chassis. Good cartridge. 1000yrds is about its limit. Can buy one based off an 7.62x39 or based on the original design. I've gotten 6 and 7 reloads out of the same brass. The Wolf factory ammo is junk.

If I were building new it would be the 6mm ARC. Has a definate speed advantage over the Grendel

What else do you want to know ?
    Last edited by DucatiRon; July 11th, 2020 at 01:50 PM.
    www.Steelvalleycasting.com is your new home for coated bullets and custom ammo.

(Carbon County)

Better take up reloading if you want to hunt deer with it. I was just cruising the net looking for Federal Fusion ammo and everybody is out of stock. Nothing else appeals to me for deer size animals. Plenty of 6.5 Creedmore in stock. That should tell you something.

I have a bolt gun and AR in 6.5 Grendels. It is a great round in the AR platform for varmint hunting and for punching paper. Now is a bad time to be getting into ANYTHING in regard to availability though. That said, if you have an existing AR, get or put together a 6.5 upper. As for a bolt gun, there are many better deer guns out there for hunting if that is what you would want to do. (I carried a bolt gun 6.5G in doe season last year so I'm certainly not afraid to hunt deer with one). All mine are under MOA at 100 and 200 yards and one is a PSA upper. (Lucky?/Probably!)