Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default Slings (mostly for EBRs)

So, I tried digging and I couldn't find a definitive sling thread.

I'm still a bit of a noob at some things. I have some questions:
    • Single point? Old-school (two point)? Three point? Which do I want? (no, I am not a hi speed lo drag operator, obviously - with my knees and gut I'm more of a hi-drag, slo-speed schmoe)
    • How do I use it? (I know you can carry your rifle, but you can use it with your stance freestanding or kneeling to enhance shooting platform stability - how do I do this without stringing myself up or looking like a chode?)
    • any special brand or material recommendations? (I presume nylon is the better material - altho I am sure I could get a hawt black patent leather one somewhere if it'll get more babes)
    • anything I missed?

I figure this could be a good resource (like many of our other threads have been to me) for others as they come along.

Default Re: Slings (mostly for EBRs)

I personally prefer the military style slings in leather, but that's just me and I only use it at the range.

(Allegheny County)

Boy, where to start?

A sling can serve 2 purposes.
    1. To carry your rifle.
    2. To assist in the stability of the rifle when shooting.

Carry - 2 basic types of carry, over the shoulder (like hunters do), and tactical carry, which typically slings the rifle across the chest in order to assist in taking the load off carrying it, and permits being able to bring the weapon into action quickly. Any sporting goods store sling will do for hunting style carrying. For tactical carry, search on-line for a one, two, or three point sling. These type of slings do nothing in assiting in accuracy.