Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default Im New but Interested in 3 gun HELP

To start my main question is when it comes to pistols how important is sight radius really my hand gun options are Glock 17 (6.49" sight radius) Glock 34 ( 7.5" SR) Sig X-5 (6.8" SR) or custom built Sig P320 Full size( 6.6" SR) I feel better shooting Sigs but a Polymer 80 frame for the 17/34 and new sights should fix my glock issues.

Secondly, For the Ar platform I saw minimum caliper of .223 are people actually shooting that over .556 in comp or will I get weird looks I mean the zero recoil factor may be huge but I have zero experience with rifles only handguns which I was told I am very proficient with by my instructors (humble brag haha).

Lastly, class recommendations would be appreciated.
    P.s. I believe the shotgun I will go with will be a Stoeger M3K with a tube extension.

Thank you in advance for your time and advice/help.

Default Re: Im New but Interested in 3 gun HELP

Any of the handguns that you have listed will suffice, unaltered. Just make sure that you have a secure holster and mag pouches.

.223 and 5.56 are just two different ways of expressing the bullet diameter of the most common caliber for an AR15. The .223 is the dimension in inches and 5.56 is the same dimension in millimeters. Although depending on how the rifle is chambered you shouln'd use .223 and 5.56 interchangeably (unless you have a Wylde chamber).

Easton Fish & Game Association runs 3-gun matches. You should be able to find info on their website.

If you've never shot competition before, you may want to ease into it. Maybe try some handgun competition first, like IDPA or USPSA. The match director for 3-gun at EFGA also runs IDPA matches at Phillipsburg. At this point, from your post, you are better equipped for a handgun discipline than for 3-gun.

Good luck with whatever you decide.

Adios,

Pizza Bob
    NRA Benefactor Member