Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lebanon County)

Default Powder discussion.

OK, I just finished looking through 6 pages of threads and didn't see this anywhere. as you all know I'm new to reloading, but I think this thread will be benificial to all. What I'd like to see is a discussion of the various powders. What is your favorite powder, for fhat reload. Let's not just limit it to manufacturer, but let's also discuss type (ball, flake, etc). For me and the newbies, the take away will be recommendations of powders to try to find our favorite for each application, and I'm hoping experienced folks may also pick up on a powder they didn't know about, or had avoided for one reason or another.

How about it folks, think we can get some good data here? I'm looking forward to the responses.

(Berks County)

Default Re: Powder discussion.

Good thread.

For my rifles which I have many, I have been playing around with getting away from having 10 different powders and trying to find a "do all".

For plinking wit hmy mil-surp rifles (trying to be cheap because all the surplus ammo is drying up) I have been using Varget for many loads (.308, 30-06, 8mm). Pretty decent all around powder.

Have had great results with Bullseye with my .45 and .38/.357 and haven't messed around with any other pistol powders yet.

For .30 carbine I am using Accurate #9

With my hunting ammo....243 and .308.... IMR-4831
    "Disperse you Rebels! Damn you! Throw down your Arms and Disperse!" British Major Pitcairn at Lexington April 19, 1775

"Sometimes reasonable men must do unreasonable things" Marvin Heemeyer

(Centre County)

Well i've tried a few different powders, but settled in on what i like fairly quickly. So far this is what i've used.

Pistol Loads
    IMR-800x, Double-Base Flake
    - Used it for my .40S&W loads, shoots nice but wished it metered better.
    Hodgdon HS-6, Single-Base Ball