Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
    (Juniata County)

Default Advice on an EDC .44 magnum

Looking to change out my 1911 when I get back from deployment, leaning strongly on getting a .44 mag, with a decent barrel length (nothing sub 3, maybe a bit longer), however I'm far from an expert on wheelguns. Any CC would be purely accidental.

I could be talked into a modern .45 Long colt instead.
    Last edited by PAMedic=F|A=; November 8th, 2019 at 01:26 PM.
    "Cives Arma Ferant"

"I know I'm not James Bond, that's why I don't keep a loaded gun under the pillow, or bang Russian spies on a regular basis." - GunLawyer001

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: Advice on an EDC .44 magnum

Single action or double action?
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Lancaster County)

The S&W M69 is what you seek:

https://www.smith-wesson.com/firearms/model-69

Nice 5 shot L frame,wishing it was offered in .41, I sometimes carry my 657 Mountain Gun (N frame) in .41 Mag when the clothing permits, or OC it during Hunting season or any time in the woods. The 629 Mountain gun is the .44 twin. under a jacket in the right holster is very doable. I am not tall or large in girth and find cross draw very effective for me with this holster :

https://www.galcogunleather.com/phoe..._8_4_1090.html

Its nice to not have the revolver sticking out from the belt when carrying a rifle at the ready on the right side
    Last edited by SgtRecon; November 8th, 2019 at 02:23 PM.

(Westmoreland County)

Ruger has some nice single and double action quality 44 mag revolvers. S&W has very nice double action revolvers. I own two S&W's so I'm partial. The best way to see which revolver "fits" you the best is to hold each one. You'll know what you like after comparing them.