Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Franklin County)

Default Why are gas prices falling?

For all you economists out there, what has caused the gas prices to fall? With all this bailout crap, something did something to get the oil prices to drop. I'm guessing it has something to do with the deflation of the dollar, but I'm no expert. Anyone have any input on why prices are dropping like a rock?

(Susquehanna County)

Default Re: Why are gas prices falling?

In a nut shell demand is down do to people tightening their belts.

DC

(Allegheny County)

Do I have to explain everything?

Isn't it obvious that we've finally shed enough blood in Iraq to make oil profitable, AND affordable.

No blood for oil, my ass!
    Who's NEXT?
    I called to check my ZIP CODE!....DY-NO-MITE!!!

(Lehigh County)

summer's over!!!!!!!
    ~De-Animating the undead since '08~

(Monroe County)

My guesses would be:

1. No new "free money" being given out, what over inflated the gas price was huge amounts of money being given away with very generous terms and interest rates so that money was used to buy huge amounts of oil stock, thus driving up the price very rapidly. Now that the money isn't there anymore people are selling to get out of oil as it returns to where it is supposed to be before they lose money. I saw it a 3.07 in Stroudsburg today, pretty amazing since it was well over 4.00 a gallon less then a year ago.

2. Oil companies are tired of being the target of the attacks against corporate America so they are dropping their prices before the election to attempt to get McCain elected so that he can give them the tax breaks that they want and they want to avoid Obama at all costs. By lowering the price they can make the republicans look much better for allowing offshore drilling and make themselves look like the "good guys" going into the winter months.