Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default AR Noob has questions. Where are all you experts?

Well, I'm picking up my first AR-15 on Friday. I'm trading two of my guns for an Olympic Arms K16. I'm totally new to the EBR world, so naturally I have some questions!

1. Cleaning. Any different procedure/equipment etc than any other gun? AR-15 specific cleaning kits?

2. Sighting. I'm putting this red dot on it:
    http://www.theshootersbox.com/store/...roducts_id=388

Now, I can just pop that on there and use just that for sighting, correct? I've heard of a lot of people that use a red dot and a scope and throw around the word "co-witness". What's that all about? Should I be ok mounting that red dot directly to the rail, or should I go ahead an order a riser since it's kind of a short sight?

3. Ammo. What's the least expensive ammo OTHER THAN bulk I can get in .223 or 5.56? Bulk scares me since if the gun doesn't like the ammo, I'm stuck with a ton of it!

4. Who offers the best bang for the buck in mags? I want to get a ton of them and have them all loaded up before each range trip. The gun only comes with one, and reloading it time after time sounds like it could lead to some serious thumb pain.

I think that's all that comes to mind for now. But of course if you have any other words of advice for an AR-15 newbie, I'm all ears.

(Northampton County)

Default Re: AR Noob has questions. Where are all you experts?

I'm not an expert per say, but I'll try my best.

1. Cleaning. Any different procedure/equipment etc than any other gun? AR-15 specific cleaning kits?
    There is a brush made to help clean the locking lugs, but there is no requirement to use that brush - although it is a little more work without it.

Disassembling the bolt carrier is a simple process, you can find plenty fo you tube videos to help you.