Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Illegal and Unprofessional behavior by Stroudsburg Regional

Around 4:15pm I was walking out of the Wawa, as 2 officers were walking in. I held the door open for them. About 10 seconds after they turned around and approached me. They loudly declared "cover up your gun now!" and I complied.

They asked me why I was open carrying and didn't have any ID out. They also wanted to know where I worked. I informed them that I am a private security consultant and I didn't want to disclose my employer. They then turned to my friend who was walking with me and asked if he had a gun. When they were told no they turned their attention back to me.

They became very unprofessional in their language telling me its not wild west and that they don't open carry or even carry when not on duty. They told me that next time they saw me OCing I would have a major problem.

They demanded to see my concealed carry permit. I told them I do not need to show them ID and do not need a concealed carry permit to OC. I was told I would have a major problem if I didn't produce them. I handed them I Florida CC permit. One patrollman wrote down the information and called it in. He then demanded my drivers license and called it in. While he was waiting for the dispatch to come back he wanted to know if I live at the address on my license and insisted that this is PA and that if I wanted a concealed carry license I would need to go down to Monroe county courthouse.