Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Few Questions

(Butler County)

Default Few Questions

I am new to hunting and will be going tfor my forst time this year Rifle only a couple questions i have
    1 When is the last day i can get my hunting licence;
    2 when buying my licence what do i ask for in the store.
    3 what the best rifle for hunting Shotgun or bolt action
    4 is there anything else i should knwo i did take teh safety class

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Few Questions

Quote Originally Posted by XDFirefighter View Post
    I am new to hunting and will be going tfor my forst time this year Rifle only a couple questions i have
    1 When is the last day i can get my hunting licence;
    2 when buying my licence what do i ask for in the store.
    3 what the best rifle for hunting Shotgun or bolt action
    4 is there anything else i should knwo i did take teh safety class
    1. You can buy it up until early-mid next year I believe, long after rifle season is over and I think after spring turkey is over.

2. Ask for a hunting license, in PA you'll get the standard which allows a single antlered buck harvest during the 2 week rifle season and 1 single turkey. as well as removing pests like ground hogs and crows.

3. You'll get a huge number of options here and it depends on where you live, I'd suggest getting a shotgun with a rifled barrel in pump as its only a matter of time before the whole state goes to a shotgun only. plus shotgun works for small game, birds, turkey... etc so you get more bang for you buck just by changing barrels.

4. Take the card with you. Get it done soon as you need to sight in your gun also hope you know where you are hunting.
    The first vehicles normally on the scene of a crime are ambulances and police cruisers. If you are armed you have a chance to decide who gets transported in which vehicle, if you are not armed then that decision is made for you.