Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1911's

(Montgomery County)

Default 1911's

Believe it or not..I'm still very new to firearms.(3 guns bought so far this year)
    I love to sit back and read and soak in as much information as possible. With that said...

From what I gather here..1911's are the "sacred" most sought after Pistol among handgun enthusiasts. Well I've been looking for a 1911 I like, and I have a question about size.

I'm currently looking at buying the Sig 1911 Platinum Elite. Well Sig offers the Platinum Elite "Carry"..which is a tad smaller in length...should this still be considered a 1911 cause it's a tad smaller? What constitues a gun being called a 1911? I'm torn on this Sig now..because of the over-all size between them both.

(Bucks County)

Default Re: 1911's

There is the standard 5" barrel 1911 which goes by description of "Government" model. This is what most everyone wishes to have and covets. The model which you speak of is the "Commander" model, some like them, I am more of a purist and only care for government models, like mine.

(Allegheny County)

And the "generic" term for a 4" barreled gun would be: Commander sized. They usually have the same grip size and mag capacity. The "Officer's" size is 3 1/2" (I think) and has a shorter, more concealable grip frame with a shorter magazine.
    There are three kinds of people in this world....them what's good at math and them what ain't.

(Allegheny County)

Rich's Springfield is indeed a 1911 but has many differences from the old G.I 1911 design. My Smith & Wesson uses a different type of extractor, so technically, it isn't a true 1911 (although they call it that and nearly all of it's other parts would fit a 1911 pistol.)
    There are three kinds of people in this world....them what's good at math and them what ain't.

(Lackawanna County)