Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Delaware County)

Default Dangerous ammo batch?

Hey guys,
    I have been shooting for a few years but am very new to rifles. I was practicing the stripper clip load on my new SKS. On the very first cycle, I let the bolt slam shut, then manually cycled the action to eject the cartridge. The bullet had been pushed almost completely back, and was fairly tighly wedged into, the brass. I rechecked the barrel for obstructions and found none, then repeated the manual cycle slowly at first, then full speed, to observe the chambering. I repeated 50 times with and never had another round even look scratched, let alone pushed in like the first. The ammo is bulk Sellier and Beloit 7.62x39 FMJ. My questions is how concerned I should be with this batch of ammo? And what would has happened had I actually fired the deformed round? Thanks in advance for any help!
    "Things have taken a turn for the surreal." - Capt. John Miller

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Dangerous ammo batch?

I'll take a guess that the round was not sitting properly in the mag. Then when you slammed the bolt home, the round jammed outside the chamber but somehow still managed to chamber. You DO NOT want to shoot the round with the bullet pushed back. It will create an over pressure situation.

If you hand cycled 50+ rounds and nothing happend, you should be good. Again, the round probably got stuck on something (because it wasn't seated in the mag properly) causing the bullet to get pushed back.

EDIT---did you slam the bolt home again when you reloaded the other 5 stripper clips and hand cycled them?
    Last edited by Guns4Fun; September 27th, 2008 at 08:40 PM.

(Delaware County)