Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Centre County)

Default Some Help with a 1911 please

I'm fairly new to troubleshooting and repairing 1911's so I need some help. I know that this is the premier site for 1911 info so I hope you guys and gals can help.

I was given a Colt MK IV Series 80 Government Model s/n FG18xxx to fix. The owner said it was failing to eject correctly, either not completely or stovepiping every 2nd or 3rd shot. This is what the ejector that was installed looked like:

I replaced the ejector with a Wilson Combat #34 (Extended Combat Ejector 45 ACP, Government/Gold Cup)

It now ejects better, tossing the cases over my right shoulder about 5 feet behind and to my right. However, some of the cases look really bad and some are dented more than what I would expect.

The first mag fired was 7 rounds of 230 FMJ WWB. The second and third mags were reloads (200 gr LSWC, 4.4 gr of Solo1000, WLP primer, should have been about 850 fps). Here is what the first 5 rounds looked like (top 5). The rest of the mag and the 3rd mag (also reloads) looked like the bottom 5 as did the factory ammo.

IIRC the 5 that look the worst popped just over my head and straight back.

Here are some pics of the gun, these were taken when I got home, before any cleaning was done.

I would like to get anyones thoughts on what might have happened.

Thanks for the assist.
    Ron USAF Ret E-8 FFL01/SOT3 NRA Benefactor Member

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Some Help with a 1911 please