Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Chester County)

Default Maintainence questions

I am pretty new to handguns as I bought my Shield9​ in January and M&P9 2.0 last month. Have around a thousand rounds through them so far. Well I do the usual cleaning and lube after each range visit as per the manual. I realize any metal to metal contacts require lube but there's only 7 places indicated after basic strip down and was wondering about the other moving parts that are not exposed. Trigger mechanism, firing pin etc. When do these require attention or do they?
    Having lots of fun shooting and getting pretty decent too and love this forum. You guys and gals are very funny AND very knowledgeable. Preciate any tips and info.

Default Re: Maintainence questions

I pull my firing pin and striker spring out and clean everything maybe three times a year on my competition gun. So every 2 - 3k rounds. Since both of yours are brand new you don't know what was in there from the factory. It might not be a bad idea to break them down and clean them. I wouldn't worry too much about cleaning every X rounds.

How do you like the 2.0? I shoot a Glock but I was wondering how the trigger was on the M&P. Also the grip on the Glock kinda sucks. If you really like shooting you should check out a local IDPA or USPSA match. Great practice and a lot of fun.
    Any vote for a third party is a vote for a Democrat. You are the enemy.

(Chester County)