Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default Info on Steyr AUG's or clones

A friend may be moving to this country soon. He is in the British Army and not fond of AR's. Despite my relentless pushes, he is too fond of the bullpups. After moving and becoming a citizen, he would like an AUG. He asks about reliability and such, but I have no info or experience with those type weapons.

Any info, and do's and don'ts, for this type rifle are appreciated. Is there any real drawback to these rifles?

Thanks,
    PA45ACP

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: Info on Steyr AUG's or clones

The drawback to an actual pre ban Steyr AUG is that it can cost you $3000 to $5000.

There are a couple of companies that currently have out similar facsimilies to a Steyr AUG but are in fact a little bit different in the way it is set up. One company is MSAR with their STG 556 and even this will cost you over $1,000.

Another company, TPD also has a clone out, but I'm not sure how faithful this one is to a Steyr.

The good news is that Steyr I believe has announced they will be producing US made AUGs. I'm guessing these should be released in 2009 at the earliest. It is still not a preban but it is an actual Steyr product.

It is easy to see how your friend could be fond of the bullpup design because that is what he is used to with their service weapon.

(Dauphin County)

If you can't find a Steyr maybe check out the new FN bullpup. As seen here:

http://gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewIte...Item=110056588

(Cambria County)

Quote Originally Posted by Garpman View Post
    The drawback to an actual pre ban Steyr AUG is that it can cost you $3000 to $5000.

There are a couple of companies that currently have out similar facsimilies to a Steyr AUG but are in fact a little bit different in the way it is set up. One company is MSAR with their STG 556 and even this will cost you over $1,000.