Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Allegheny County)

Default Shooting on land that you don't own but have permission

Ive only been shooting about a year now, so I'm new to pretty much every aspect, especially the law.

I live in the city, obviously I'm well aware you can't just walk into the woods and begin target practice. However, living in the city, theres no where for me to shoot my rifles that isn't 2 hours away or costs a lot of $$$.

So, I went online and found someone who was trying to sell their land. I contacted them and asked them for their authority to range on the land. He said he was a hunter etc. and he wouldn't mind this at all so long as I kept everything in order, he was a really nice guy - an old timer. So I go there and do my thing with out incident. So I decided to go back. Here i find out that they are building a commercial property 2 miles away and one of the workers saw my truck and heard shots so he alerted the police - whom came.

They were all in my face etc. I'm young, 24, so maybe he felt like i just walked into the woods and started shooting. Never the less, I explain to him that i have permission to shoot here from the current owner, and showed him text messages confirming my story.

He then said I can't just do that, as i don't own the land, even though everyone told me this would be ok. All in all, he just told me to leave, which I did.

My question is, was the cop wrong with regard to the law? Was i shooting lawfully in this scenario?. If not, could someone explain how i could shoot without having my own land?

Thanks fellas really appreciate the help!

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: Shooting on land that you don't own but have permission