Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Lackawanna County)

Default buying a firearm in PA

Hi all,

I am an NYC resident and about to buy a vacation home in the Poconos. What do I need to purchase a firearm in PA to go shooting at local ranges? Is it just a matter of changing my NY driver license to a PA one? Or is there anything else I'd have to do?

Thanks

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: buying a firearm in PA

Welcome to the forum. As a fellow new member, a bit of advice - search the forum before posting. I believe this question has been asked before by other members so you will likely find answers by searching. Some of the responses are helpful, some entertaining - depending on which side of the state line you are on.

Also take a look around and familiarize yourself with PA's laws, there are a lot of stickies with FAQs answered.

Quote Originally Posted by bklnjets View Post
    Hi all,

I am an NYC resident and about to buy a vacation home in the Poconos. What do I need to purchase a firearm in PA to go shooting at local ranges? Is it just a matter of changing my NY driver license to a PA one? Or is there anything else I'd have to do?

Thanks
    there are some FFL's that will sell you handguns with a deed that shows you own property with a home. No DL required. Others will only sell long guns and shotguns. Of course the firearm has to stay in PA, unless you are exempt. You will use your PA address on the 4473 when purchasing. The instruction page has the details. Consult your local FFL dealer. Hope this helped.

(Montgomery County)

Make PA your permanent residence, buy guns, get your license to carry, and don't vote for the kinds of people that made NY the wasteland that it is (no liberals, ever).

Then you'll be much better off.

Become a resident.

(Lackawanna County)

Quote Originally Posted by 1911Operator View Post