Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Perry County)

Default holdover for duplex reticle scopes

Can anyone give me some help with estimating holdover on a duplex reticle?

I have a Bushnell 4200 8-32x on my Tikka T3 Lite in .223 that I use for groundhogs.
    Been using Hornady 55 gr. Vmax factory ammo and I used Hornady's ballistic calculator and made a little sheet with how much the bullet drops at certain distances, but I'm not good at estimating the height I need to hold over.

I have it sighted in at 100 yards (range I belong to only goes to 100 yards). The last time I was there I used the bottom of the reticle, where the thin line of the crosshair meets the thick line, and it was only like a 1 inch increase. I'm not sure how that equals out at longer distances? I suck at math so not sure how to figure that out.

For instance, the chart says at 300 yards the bullet drop is 11.2 inches. How do I estimate that 11.2 inches of holdover?

(Chester County)

Default Re: holdover for duplex reticle scopes

Does the reticle only have crosshairs, or does it have any other lines or dots?

On this type of scope, the holdover changes with the distance and with the magnification you're using. Can you give me a link to the exact scope and reticle you have? I may be able to help make a simple table once I know exactly what you have.
    Boy, I say boy, you're reaching the limits of my medication!

(Perry County)

yeah, just a crosshairs, no other lines or dots.

It's this:
    https://www.midwayusa.com/product/56...-reticle-matte

You are going to have issues with trying to range with your optic.

Your optic is a Second Focal Plane SFP and if you had a ranging reticle...the ranging is typically done on the highest magnification, which in your case is 32x.