Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New Pc

Default New Pc

I am looking at various computers, with an idea of buying a new one , I am not sure if I should try to build one myself as I have never done that before , so I will probably buy one from Gateway or Dell, or some other brand. I am assuming that I would need 8 Gigabytes of RAM and a Terabyte of hard disk storage. Any thoughts on this , please advise.

Thanks Ed

(Butler County)

Default Re: New Pc

You have to be more specific about what you are going to use it for.

8 GB of ram? Sure if you are doing something that will require 8 GB of ram within the time you have the computer, and if you opt for a 64bit OS. 1 TB hard drive? Ok, they are cheap enough.

If it were me, for normal everyday tasks and longevity:

1. Choose the latest and greatest CPU, but not at the latest and greatest speed. e.g. a middle of the line quad core.

2. Choose a video card that meets your needs. e.g. only go really high end if you are a gamer or otherwise require a high end video card. Don't go bargain bucket, try to stay middle priced.

3. Get at least 2GB of ram, not more than 4GB unless you have a 64bit OS.

4. Hard drives are cheap, I suggest more than one. I prefer multiple drives over one end all huge drive. e.g. get a small drive to install your OS, and a large drive for mass storage.

5. I prefer a good, large monitor over high end computer specs most of the time. Multiple monitors is even better, I suggest 2.

6. Onboard sound and LAN work for me... Audiophiles would opt for a standalone sound card.

7. If you build it, get a higher end case and more importantly a high end power supply.

My $.02

(Chester County)

All of the above ^^^, plus: