Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Default "You will be arrested."- MONTCO Sheriff's Dept.

I am a resident of New York State. I have a permit from New York State. As I was not in Pennsylvaina at the time I wanted to apply I did the mail order process through the Centre County Sheriff's Office and received my Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms with my New York address and all the other pertinent information.
    Problem: The card is big and laminated. As I spend time in Montgomery County PA who issues a nice looking Driver Lic. style LTC, I called and asked if I could pay the fee and have my permit reissued from Montgomery County as one of the easier to carry licenses.
    Response: Montgomery County and the State of Pennsylvania do not issue non-resident LTC Permits. The Centre County Sheriff was mistaken when he issued that to you. Rip it up and never use it. If you carry a firearm in this county with your illegitimate LTC you will be arrested.
    I said, "Ok, thank you, have a nice day and its a good thing I called."

Then I called the Centre County Sheriff's Office and spoke directly to Sheriff Denny Nau (nice guy by the way). He says that even though Montgomery County may not issue PA LTCs to non-residents he does and if he issues a license it is good throughout the state of PA regardless of whether the local county Sheriff wishes to issue non-resident permits or not.

At this point I don't think I will ever want to carry in Montgomery County, and as I spend most of my time in Montgomery County, I won't ever carry in PA...I really don't need to get arrested. Would perhaps a letter of clarification from the Montgomery County Sheriff's Dept. be of some use so that I can carry that around if/when I want to carry here to avoid being arrested? Please help me out on this one...I'm sort of upset.
    Thanks.

(Bucks County)

Default Re: "You will be arrested."- MONTCO Sheriff's Dept.