Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default OC Troubles in East Stroudsburg - Paging big gorilla

I was in the East Stroudsburg WaWa and was OCing as I usually am. There were police officers inside and outside the store as there often are. In my 1.5 years in this area I've gotten a few weird looks from local cops when I OC and I had been once asked where I work. Tonight as I exited the store Sgt. Greene asked me if I had the permit to conceal carry. As I was starting to explain that I don't need a permit he interrupted me and told me he knew it was leagal to OC how ever I should out my shirt over it as I was making people nervous. Since I was about to get into my car he asked me to see my permit. I handed him my Florida CC permit. He asked me if I am a resident in PA or Florida. I told him I am a PA resident and that the FL permit gave me more flexibility and reciprocity then the PA permit. He stated I would have to get a local permit.

HE stated that he always carries but in his 18 years of him being a cop I am the first person he has seen OCing. I told him he should come out to the OC dinner thats happening this Friday and he will see a few more.

He was calm and professional the whole time during the encounter how ever he is plain wrong about me needing to get local permit. The officer also asked me to stop OCing right after acknowledging that he knows it is legal.

I think stroudsburg regional needs some OC flyers and a phone call asking what other things they plan to stop that they know are legal that they don't like.

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: OC Troubles in East Stroudsburg - Paging big gorilla

Well, sound like you have the bases covered as far as pointing out the errors.

PM me the info you have (names, dept(s)) and I'll pick this up in AM.