Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default bought a used 11-87

Well I've been wanting a shotgun so I can go shoot clays with the guys from work and decided on a 'special purpose mag' 30" 11-87. I know its far from the best gun for clays but I'm just getting into it and wanna see how a semi works for me before I plunk down big bucks for a high end gun. The price seemed very reasonable at 435 so I hope it works well for me this afternoon at CSLC on Route 87.
    Opinions, thoughts, and comments are very welcomed.

please excuse my crappy pic taking skills:

(Delaware County)

Default Re: bought a used 11-87

They are great guns to use especially for combined purposes -clays, practice, small game, and turkey. Keep the gun as is and buy a few flats or value packs of ammo. The only "option" that you might want to invest in is chokes. But before buying chokes take the gun out with your favorite or least expensive shells to find what shoots/cycles reliably and see how the barrel and chokes pattern.

Best regards,
    chalmitch
    "If you believe the term "militia" means the National Guard then you must believe that freedom of speech is reserved for the Government Printing Office." - Some guy, 2/2007

(Luzerne County)

I have a Beretta Field Grade 390. I bought it for 500.00 from Wal Mart a few years back. A good buddy of mine runs a Remmy 1100. As long as you have interchangeable chokes, you will be fine. I can break in the 20's out of 25 and I only shot 3-4 times per year. This is done with Wal mart value pack ammo as well. I run a modified 95% of the time and a full for cut throat.

Use one gun and stay with it. The shooter plays a big part. Its nice to see the guys with the big dollar guns and keeping pace with them without breaking a sweat with an off the rack shotty

(Allegheny County)