Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default Trying to build a "One Stamp" AR - Need gunsmith to weld suppressor to 10.5" barrel

So I'm thinking about building a suppressed 300 BLK AR and was looking for a gunsmith or machine shop in the Philly/Philly Burbs area who has experience in permanently attaching a suppressor to a barrel.

I was looking to attach a Gemtech Tracker (7.9") to an 8.5 or 10.5 barrel (Still deciding what would be the best option for gas blowback reasons)

Has anyone done this before? Any tips? Know of anyone in the area who can permanently attach the suppressor?

(Cumberland County)

Default Re: Trying to build a "One Stamp" AR - Need gunsmith to weld suppressor to 10.5" barr

I'm not a expert, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night...

It may sound like a good idea, but IHMO, you're setting yourself up for possible failure. For starters, unless it's a suppressor that you can disassemble, you're going to have a hell of a time cleaning it. Secondly, if you ever need to do anything that requires removal of the gas block, or you need/want to change the barrel for some reason, you're pretty much screwed.

That Gemtech Tracker is made of titanium and aluminum - welding or silver soldering isn't going to be easy and I suspect not cheap (if it's even possible given the materials). For what it is, to have it done properly, I would be surprised if you get out the door for less than $100. Put that $$ toward a 2nd stamp. Then you have an SBR AND a suppressor that you can put on the front of anything.

That's just my $0.02, taxes, title, and fees not included.
    Soap Box - Worn out : Ballot Box - Broken : Jury Box - Pending : Ammunition Box - Unknown

(Wyoming County)

Default Re: Trying to build a "One Stamp" AR - Need gunsmith to weld suppressor to 10.5" barr

Make it a 300blk pistol - 1 stamp - no welding.

My .02
    "It seems that the Constitution is more or less guidelines than actual rules"