Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Anyone have experience selling stuff at gun shows?

I just came back from a small gun show near my home and got the idea that maybe I should buy a table at the next one they have. It's $45 a table. I don't have any guns to sell but I have stock piles of everything else such as knives and hunting gear. I've acquired and inherited a lot of stuff I'll never use. Much of it is brand new. It seems like it might be a good way to sell or trade stuff and network. I have no experience with this kind of thing though. Anything I need to know?

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Anyone have experience selling stuff at gun shows?

Sounds like fun and a good way to get rid of stuff you don't use. The only issue I see is you won't have the capability to take Credit or debit cards so that may hurt sales. Also figure out what you want for your stuff and make sure your prices are fair and competitive. If it's only $45 for a table for 2 or 3 days I don't see how you can lose money.

I am thinking I won't lose any money or at least break even. I have boxes of new knives, archery gear, hunting gear, and lots of stuff people might want. I've been wanting to have a yard sale but I live in the woods and haven't found a place I can have one where people travel. They told me they hold gun/knife shows once a month in my area. It seems like a good way to meet people in the business. It seemed like it was a lot of retired guys who just like guns and stuff like that. I got one guys business card who deals in black powder which is something that interests me.

(Lehigh County)

I used to sell at hamfests some time ago. You can do well if you have decent pricing. I always tried to include some 'bargains' to attract traffic and also to cover my entry cost. At a gun/sportsman show this can be ammo or something easy to sell.

You need to be willing to negotiate/bargain/barter. Some times other dealers may have something to trade since cash can be limited.