Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Wyoming County)

Default Bench Rest 223 bolt action- I've got an itch for such a rifle

So the other day I came across a Savage model #10 Precision Carbine Accu Stock / Accu Trigger threaded 20" heavy barrel with a 1-9 twist.

A little background to consider. I've been reloading for about 18 months now and really enjoy it. I'm all set up with .223 & 300blk for rifle calibers. My backyard provides me with 100-150 yds of shooting room. For the time being I have 16" AR rifles to shoot with but I'd like to learn better shooting & better reloading, & I'd eventually like to add varmint hunting to the mix. I'm only interested in threaded models for a can. Detachable box mags appeal more to me. Floor plates not so much- with a wink at Remington 700 & Ruger M77

I've also come across a Browning X-Bolt A-TACS LE which I guess is new for 2016. It has 20" threaded barrel with a 1-8 twist. I constantly read positive reviews about Savage out of the box performance, but I'm not familiar with Browning at all. Apparently Savage has discontinued their model (or at least I can't find it on their website anymore).

Link: http://www.browning.com/products/fir...-atacs-le.html

Any Savage or X-Bolt users or anyone else care to share their input?
    "It seems that the Constitution is more or less guidelines than actual rules"
    My feedback: http://forum.pafoa.org/showthread.php?t=305685

Default Re: Bench Rest 223 bolt action- I've got an itch for such a rifle

Neither one of those rifles are 'bench rest' rifles. They both kinda suck.

I'm telling you this as someone who has a 223 bolt gun for a trainer.

Save your money and buy a Ruger RPR, especially if you think you should reload.

Here is a hint: If you think you should role your own rounds; you should.
    Quote Originally Posted by dkf View Post
    Official Gun Bully and corn flakes pisser inner since March 2007.

(Wyoming County)